How high can you safely boost a mostly stock 7mgte? New to forums!.

Onemanwolfpack85

Dec 24, 2011
So Cal , Ca
Hey everyone! Well im new to the supra scene and forums my names Geo.! had a couple of s13s before but just recently picked up an 87' mk3 turbo and have a newb question id like to ask before the fun begins :) How much can i boost this baby to safely? car has slight modifications: Metal head gasket, ARP head studs, Huge k&n air filter (like a foot long lol), 3 in down pipe to full 3 in 5zigen exhaust and trd alluminum rad. Any help would definitely be appreciated! thanks!

Last edited:

planemos

Apr 22, 2011
Slocan Park, BC, Canada
ARP headstuds and metal HG is a great start! As long as it was done right (proper machine work to make the head and block flat/resurfaced). There is quite a few options for you it seems. There is lots of research you can do here. I like supraforums.com too. At this point I would suggest to you a better intercooler and a boost controller. And gauges to moniter what's going on with your engine. It's all up to you how far you want to take it. Welcome to SM as well!

Onemanwolfpack85

Dec 24, 2011
So Cal , Ca
^^ thanks! and well seems like things were done right, internal work was done about 7k miles ago (got reciepts from reputable shop which did all the work) so i think i can say its going to be fine.! i have a boost gauge and turbo timer i also just installed and a boost controller on stand by just waitin on some numbers to go by!? Car is going to be daily driven, occaissional canyon and spirited drives on the highway but not lookin to build internals or anything (at least not at this point)

Last edited:

Turbo Habanero

Apr 28, 2009
Tucson,AZ
Safe to boost 12psi with your setup although so me cars will hit fuel cut around 12 others do not(climate and altitude plays big part). So just dial your car in as close to 12 as possible with out hitting fuel cut is what I would do if your looking for peak safe power.