WWYD (What Would You Do)

AIRICK

Apr 23, 2010
CINCINNATI
I've been working on my 7mgte for about 9 years now. In the beginning I didn't know where to go to find the needed info on my build, so I just talked to a few other 7mgte owners. Based on what they said I had a shop clean and deck (.2mm off) & port and polish the head (intake and exhaust), do a "performance" valve job on the valves and rebuild everything using stock parts and new seals. As for the lower half, they cleaned and decked the block (.355mm off), bored the cylinders .020" over, shot peened the factory rods, installed JE pistons & rings, cleaned and balanced the crank shaft, & installed Clevite bearings and all ARP hardware.
Because of bad guidance, I didn't have the timing cover milled with the head, I had a stock head gasket installed, and I used ARP head BOLTS, and had the exhaust side of my head ported and polished......and whatever else I may have overlooked. So, as of now I have a incorrectly built short block that, if anything, needs to have the head taken off so it and the block can be cleaned. (It's been sitting on a stand for about 6 years covered and uncovered).
I'm trying not spend too much more on this thing, but I want it built right. My beginning HP goal was around 400, but now I just want a strong motor. What would you do in my shoes?

Oh, in case you were wondering....I have a rebuilt CT-26 (T04E, 60-1 Trim), new stock oil pump, Walbro fuel pump, 550cc injectors, Aeromotive FPR, ported and polish intake runners, & stock exhaust manifold.

CajunKenny

PULL MY FINGER. PLEASE!
Nov 15, 2007
Washington
I'd pull it apart and have the block decked with the timing cover attached, put it back together with an MHG, install it, and run the mess out of it.

kotu100

Nov 23, 2006
Easton, Ma
CajunKenny;1800551 said:
I'd pull it apart and have the block decked with the timing cover attached, put it back together with an MHG, install it, and run the mess out of it.
x2
add ARP head STUDS

toyotanos