Police perception amongst the general public.

Dunckel

Jan 16, 2007
Spokane, WA
I figured a Q&A thread on why police do the things they do, and why they do them that way, might be helpful.

A quick rundown on me: I've been in law enforcement for a few years now. I've worked in facilities ranging from minimum, to maximum security. I've worked at the city level, county, and federal. I'm currently a police officer. I'm a certified weapons expert, I've been tased and am a certified taser subject matter expert. I've recieved training in hostage negotiation, incident command, tactical communications, and high speed driving. I've been justified to use my taser, but never have. I've had to point my gun at people knowing that I may have to shoot. Thankfully I've never had to do it. Unfortunately, a few in my dept. have had to. I've had people pull guns on me. I've arrested people for shoplifting a candy bar, I've let people go that had cocain in their possession. I've given someone verbal warnings for infractions that totalled nearly $1500. I've issued an $800+ infraction on Christmas. I've had contact with pure shitbags that ended with a smile and a handshake (even a thank you), I've contacted people with no criminal history, and ended up on the receiving end of an ass whooping, and a trip to the hospital. I've also whooped ass. :icon_razz Don't get me wrong. I'm not claiming to know everything, or claiming that I have done everything.

Another officer asked me tonight, "Why do you do things the way you do?" I told him, "The general public has no idea what we do, and/or why we do things the way we do. The perception of today's police is a negative one. I want to help change that."

I said all that to say this; If anyone has a question on WHY the police do things the way they do, I think I am qualified to answer, and I want to help.

Ask away.

OfnaRcR4

Shea!
Oct 2, 2006
kettering ohio