Partially wrapping exhaust manifold/header...

Ma70.Ent

Supramania Contributor
Feb 26, 2006
NJ
I've been wondering, could you partially wrap an exhaust manifold/header (basically not completely wrapping it) to get some of the benefits, and not the drawbacks? The drawbacks I hear of are mainly faster rust/corrosion due to the moisture being trapped within the wrap. Exhaust wrap is pretty cheap so to get some of it's benefits without it's disadvantages would be pretty cool.

RazoE

Boobs/Boost, my favorite
Jun 13, 2006
Los Angeles
www.cafepress.com
wouldn't that be akin to putting your pants on half way?

partial wrap might have some adverse affects, I'm not an expert by any means, but wouldn't the unwrapped parts give off more heat then the wrapped parts, and warp..?

Ma70.Ent

Supramania Contributor
Feb 26, 2006
NJ
RazoE;1127275 said:
wouldn't that be akin to putting your pants on half way?

partial wrap might have some adverse affects, I'm not an expert by any means, but wouldn't the unwrapped parts give off more heat then the wrapped parts, and warp..?

I'm not an expert either, that's why I posted this up. Hopefully we can get more input on this :)

Keros

Canadian Bacon
Mar 16, 2007
Calgary
I'll also retain the claims of not being an expert.

But consider that a metal pot handle will still get hot when the pot is on the burner, dispite the handle not being connected to the heat source. Most, if not all, metals (especially cast iron), have a high thermal conductivity. It's unlikely that there will be a large temperature difference in any area on the metal itself, particularly between the wrapped and unwrapped areas because the heat energy will move throughout the entire component via thermal conductivity. It could be a problem if there was something with a high specific heat (like water) contacting one part of the metal and not another.