Checking out bottom end, need some advice

staticpat

Supra Chair!
Mar 30, 2005
Birmingham, AL
Well I had a low tapping noise, and I assumed it was rodknock so I'm looking at the bottom end to check my clearances and whatnot. I want to see if it's fixable or if I might as well get a new engine. I've never done this before, so I need a little help. I have been taking pictures of everything but I don't have the right cable for my camera :icon_conf , so I'm going to try and describe things the best I can. On the other two rodknock engines I've seen, the problem was clearly identifiable (ie. rod broken, or had tons of play) but all my rods are solid in place, so I'm doing my best.

Here are my questions/concerns.

-First thing that stood out to me was there was some scoring on the bottom of the back 4 rodcaps. The sides of the caps and rods are perfect. The oil pan and block look perfect, doesn't look like they have been hit at all. (EDIT: the rods are hitting the pan, read next post for clarification) I don't see what the caps could be hitting. This is a picture where I tried to describe the scoring. This is not my engine of course.
scoringju7.jpg

3 of the rodcaps have 3 score marks, and 1 of them has 4, all equally spaced out. They are not deep, but I can feel them with my fingernail. Will this throw the engine out of balance? Should I replace the rodcaps? or is this a sign of a bigger problem.

-I checked out the rearmost rod so far (this one had the 4 score marks so I assumed it was the worst). The crank looks great, no scoring or pitting. Bright and clean. So hopefully replacing the bearings will be sufficient. The bearings look a little worn and some pits, but to a beginner's eye I don't know if they are bad or not. I plastigaged this rod and it came back within spec (between the .038 and .025 marks, about .021). This is obviously on the low side, but the TSRM only says to worry if its over .07. What do I do if its lower than specs?