Blown 7M at 19psi on Stock CT26

hammerhead

Sep 10, 2005
Belize
Don't believe me? my setup is listed in my sig. Here's the deal. I'm a noob to motorsports, a wannabe DIY mechanic. I have a really good mechanic friend who helps me out a lot, though..

For a long time I thought my turbo was taking a crap on me, cuz it would boost right up to 14 psi but drop right away to 9 or 10 psi. I was starting to suspect that my fuel pump was not keeping up, cuz if i pulled hard in the lower gears, i felt a power hole (don't know how you call it, but kinda like fuel cut-off, except not completely cut off).

The engine blew in 5th gear, i had the boost controller on scramble, just boosting freely, 120mph... Believe it or not, i remember the turbo gauge holding a steady 1.25 bars... i thought it could only boost 15psi?

anyways, engine still runs, but really really rough, smokes white like a mofo. Can't wait to tear it apart. i suspect the engine ran lean and melted pistons and/or rings..

any thoughts?

CarlosPTR210

Apr 5, 2006
Calexico,CA
www.ptr.com.mx
hammerhead said:
Don't believe me? my setup is listed in my sig. Here's the deal. I'm a noob to motorsports, a wannabe DIY mechanic. I have a really good mechanic friend who helps me out a lot, though..

For a long time I thought my turbo was taking a crap on me, cuz it would boost right up to 14 psi but drop right away to 9 or 10 psi. I was starting to suspect that my fuel pump was not keeping up, cuz if i pulled hard in the lower gears, i felt a power hole (don't know how you call it, but kinda like fuel cut-off, except not completely cut off).

The engine blew in 5th gear, i had the boost controller on scramble, just boosting freely, 120mph... Believe it or not, i remember the turbo gauge holding a steady 1.25 bars... i thought it could only boost 15psi?

anyways, engine still runs, but really really rough, smokes white like a mofo. Can't wait to tear it apart. i suspect the engine ran lean and melted pistons and/or rings..