Sharing lessons learned from upgrading the A340E

Supra0089

Jan 13, 2009
New Hampshire
Hi all. I've been through a lot of struggles getting my a340e to hold 420whp in my 89 Supra. I wanted to share what I've learned through trial and error, research, and experience. I wish I had known some of this from the beginning...even having done extensive research ahead of time. Disclaimer: The following information is based on what I've witnessed & learned. I'm not a mechanic. If something is technically incorrect, please correct me you transmission experts.

Lesson 1) If you have an a340e and are upgrading your power in any way, get a temp gauge for your tranny fluid. It's well worth the $100. Temp tells you almost everything you need to know about the condition/performance/health of your tranny.

Lesson 2) Get an external tranny cooler with temp activated pushfan and make sure it's in a well ventilated area. Under the driver's headlight is good for 1/4 passes, but not canyoning holding 2nd/3rd gear for 5 minutes or more; for long term pulls I'd recommend putting the cooler near or infront of the intercooler. If it's under the headlight, a tip I learned is to have the pushfan push air down, remove the bottom part of the headlight black shroud, and remove the dustshield under that area (there is a separate dust shield for that corner for some reason); then you can open your headlight to create ram-air down through the cooler. Drops 2 degrees a second when cruising after a heavy pull. Cooling seems to be more effective if the tranny fluid lines bypass the original cooler lines through the radiator.