Good things to look for when buying an MK3?

BusterMK3

0-BHG In 77K
Feb 20, 2013
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Was wondering what specifically to look for on an mk3?
It's listed on CL over here. http://atlanta.craigslist.org/atl/cto/3613715132.html Presuming it has a BHG seeing as he bought it along with another one and is unsure if it currently runs. It's a 7M-GE, needs some exterior TLC, rad, some hoses, and more than likely a rebuild. I'm dying to buy it but I want to figure out what else would need to be repaired to make this amazing machine road worthy.
I'm new to Supras, but lately I've been looking for an MK3, after a friend of mine picked one up over in Tampa as a project. But I don't know what to specifically look out for on these cars that are commonly problematic.
Any help is appreciated, thanks.

Enraged

A HG job took HOW long??
Mar 30, 2005
Victoria, BC, Canada
If I were to do it all over again, I would ignore any engine or suspension issues, and get a car with a clean body and interior. Engine and suspension are easier to do for a DIYer, body and paint is a pain in the ass.

AbsoluteSpeed

Aug 8, 2007
Edmonton AB
Check in the spare tire well for water/rust. Also, bring a weak fridge magnet and run it over the fenders. If it sticks you're good, if it doesn't there is bondo so RUN AWAY!!

BusterMK3

0-BHG In 77K
Feb 20, 2013
I'm going to look at it tomorrow morning. I told him I'm more than likely to buy it, if everything checks out with the car that is. I'm excited to have a Supra :icon_bigg , I've wanted one for the longest time. I appreciate the tips, I'm hoping this thing is legit. Would it be worth keeping the 7M or better off going 1j or 2j? I've got about $4000 after I buy it to work with.

Enraged- Yeah I'm not too concerned about mechanical issues since I'm basically looking for a rolling shell with 5sp tranny. Maybe I can get everything together before my friend in Tampa just to rub it in her face :evil2:

Sside

May 20, 2008
Houston