Fog Light Rewire Problem

supra90turbo

shaeff is FTMFW!
Mar 30, 2005
MA, 01440
Feel like a total noob here, but I rewired my foglights, and despite checking everything twice or more, they are not working as intended.

I followed dylan wiggins writeup, and even cross checked a few others, one other being by ish.

I did everything they did, down to the smallest detail (except, of course, the use of wire nuts) but only get fog lights when the parking lights are on, and only when the high beams are on.

I'm somewhat at a loss, I ran out of time before I could figure it out, and now it's going to bug me all night.

I'm sure it's something simple though.

Thanks,
Kurt

*links
dylan wiggins writeup
ish's writeup

jetjock

creepy-ass cracka
Jul 11, 2005
Redacted per Title 18 USC Section 798
As poorly as that mod is thought out a quick analysis shows it should work assuming you have a later model year car. Based on what you said you've likely done something wrong with the red/black wire from the relay. You're lucky in one sense though: the write up I've seen for the 87 and 88 is a true abomination. Whoever came up with it should be slapped...

supra90turbo

shaeff is FTMFW!
Mar 30, 2005
MA, 01440
Forgot to mention, but it's on my 90 so the colors should have all been right.

Oh, you've got that right, JJ... I feel that those writeups should be removed in favor of ones that encourage the use of correct connectors, tools, and common sense.
I used a lot of the wiring tips I got from you, as a matter of fact, I like my wiring to look and perform like factory when I'm done.

I used the guide simply for the wire colors, and, feel as if it were out of laziness considering I've got a perfectly good TSRM sitting on my toolbox.
I kind of feel like a moron now. haha

jetjock

creepy-ass cracka
Jul 11, 2005