Finally Finished!!! Woot!!! Thanks!!

jgcable

Jul 26, 2008
Milford, CT
I finally finished the head gasket on my 1987 NA Supra. Its just a daily driver.

I replaced:

Head gasket (stock Felpro)
I stripped the head and had a machine shop repair a rear water jacket and plain it flat.
I installed new:
valve stem seals
injector cushions
injector o-rings
water pump
timing belt
all new gaskets
front cam seals
New Toyota head bolts (I torked them to 72ft lbs. in 5 passes)
I painted an detailed everything
I spend about 4 weeks on it. I studied until my eyes bled, I asked tons of questions here and I followed the TRSM and the Haynes manual that I have.
I didn't have a single bolt left.
I pulled out my timing light and started her up this morning. She started right up but was running like crap. I broke out the timing light, jumped the diagnostic port as per the manual directs and set the timing to 10 degrees BTDC. She is running beautiful. I let her run for around 20 minutes and removed the radiator cap and had to put in about 2 pints.
I started her back up and she started instantly, idles at 650, no leaks, no vacuum leaks. Basically she purrs like a kitten.

I am so happy. Thank all you guys so much for all the help. I couldn't have done it without your help!!!

jdub

Official SM Expert: Motor Oil, Lubricants & Fil
SM Expert
Feb 10, 2006
Valley of the Sun
Don't forget to re-torque those stock head bolts after 5 complete warm-up/cool down cycles. Change the oil and filter now...do it again after 500 miles.

Feels good to have that done huh ;)

jgcable

Jul 26, 2008
Milford, CT
jdub;1111109 said:
Don't forget to re-torque those stock head bolts after 5 complete warm-up/cool down cycles. Change the oil and filter now...do it again after 500 miles.

Feels good to have that done huh ;)