Breastfeeding

mkiiSupraMan18

Needs a new username...
Apr 1, 2005
United States
Apparently people were offended by my 'make your wife breastfeed' remark in Clueless' thread - Good News!!

Aside from tying up the mother of your child and shoving the baby onto the boob, is 'making' your wife breastfeed a bad thing? I'm considering 'making' to be strong encouragement-no death threats, threats of withholding something, violence/abuse of any kind (physical or emotional)... Just a "honey I REALLY wish you'd breastfeed" type of encouragement-along with all the supporting data, of course.

My wife being a nurse, I never had to deal with this... but we encourage all of our friends who are pregnant that they should atleast give it a try.

Thoughts, experiences, rants...? I'm here at work for another 8 hours and I'd love to hear them.

DsBetterHalf

The Pretty Doward
Jan 25, 2008
Alachua, FL
My old boss had a case where he really wanted his wife to breastfeed, and she wasn't so keen on the idea. They came to a compromise, however - she would breastfeed if he quit smoking. So there was no "making" her breastfeed, just some negotiations. :)

I will give it a shot when my time comes, but we'll see. It may not be the thing for me, or there may be problems. My sister's first child had to go the bottle route...she couldn't pull the essential stuff down from the breast, so she was feeding like every 30 minutes but not really getting what she needed. Second baby had no problems.

I guess it all depends on the woman. :shrug:

Pernilongo

LADA is my daily
Jul 15, 2007
Los Angeles