1986.5 SUPRA 7M-GE

Jan 25, 2012
Colorado
Hi everyone, This is my first thread on SM! It is the build of my 7M-GE motor, I am not interested in massive HP gains... yet.... I will save that for later after I get a solid running n/a that's reliable.

So I bought my 1986.5 Supra for $650 last december with an engine that was knockin' my plan was to buy a holdover engine so I could drive, seeing as my Supra is my Daily Driver :icon_bigg. So I bought a JDM motor with around 50K on it for $800. and I have been driving it around for about 7 months now running that same motor. I just recently starting getting back into my rebuild. I'll post as many pictures as I can find on my swap but I am just going to start with the beginning stages of my N/A build.

View attachment 62480View attachment 62481View attachment 62482View attachment 62483View attachment 62484View attachment 62485View attachment 62486View attachment 62487View attachment 62488View attachment 62489

1986.5 SUPRA 7M-GE

Jan 25, 2012
Colorado
Beginning stages of the old motor re-build.

Just got the block out of the shop had been there for awhile developed a little surface rust had to clean it up a bit.

View attachment 62490

All taped/painted. :icon_bigg

View attachment 62491

Finished with the second coat.

View attachment 62492

Deck has yet to be milled and cylinders still need to be bored. The crank comes out of the shop tonight, and I am also going to pick up some tail light gaskets from toyota tonight so I can get my hatch to stop leaking :: angry ::

View attachment 62493

1986.5 SUPRA 7M-GE

Jan 25, 2012
Colorado
chrisisg77;1889959 said:
Looks good .
But may i ask why did you get a 7m instead of a gte or j series?