Will my system be able to handle running 6 55w HID's at the same time?

honestabe

Happy as hell :D
Jan 15, 2006
Mount Vernon, WA, USA
www.cardomain.com
With the coming together of my new lighting setup I'm starting to wonder if my stock electrical system (specifically the alternator and battery) will be able to handle my setup. My alternator is a freshly reman'd 100 amp stock unit and I don't have a bumping stereo (just a basic head unit and fairly stock speakers). I am wanting to run 6 total 55w HID projectors at the same time, turning 1 pair on at a time of course and letting the light get warmed up before turning on the next.

All the wiring for the projectors will be completely aftermarket with their own independent circuit and aftermarket switch and will each have an inline fuse and relay. What are ya'lls thoughts on this? I'm far from an electrical expert so I have no clue.

Also, I should add that my mirrors aren't powered up right now and that I don't have heat or A/C anymore so that's less electrical draw, but I do have dual electric fuel pumps (Walbro 255 LPH's) and dual electric SPAL fans.

GrimJack

Administrator
Dec 31, 1969
Richmond, BC, Canada
idriders.com
IMO, no. The three pairs of lights by themselves are going to be close to too much, the heater fan removal doesn't give you much headroom, the AC removal doesn't affect it significantly at all (the only electrical component is the clutch on the compressor), and the bit that will push you over the edge is the SPAL fans. Those things pull a LOT of power, especially when they are spinning up.

Poodles

I play with fire
Jul 22, 2006
Fort Worth, TX