Want to Raise Boost on 7mgte from stock to 10psi with Oil Leaking... Bad idea??

755hp

Goal - 755hp
Jul 19, 2012
Tri-State Area & MI
Okay, so I got an 88' 5sp Turbo completely stock w/ 105,000+ miles on it back in Oct. 2013. However, it has an oil leak. Its coming from the front of the motor; I think it may be the oil pan. I'm hoping its not the cam seals front main seal! But I been driving it since topping off the oil and it runs pretty good besides idling really low and stalling sometimes. But I think thats because the stock catalytic converters are clogged/blocking my exhaust flow. Just ordered a driftmotion downpipe last week to clear that problem up...NO MORE CATS!!

Anyway, I'm really excited about finally getting my Supra! Though I'm in my last year of college and barely have enough money to fix this oil leak, let alone gas money, I STILL want to raise the boost from its stock setting of 6.8psi. I was thinking to get a Hallman manual boost controller (money) or a cheaper NXS manual boost controller.

However, I don't want to kill my 7m thats leaking oil but its a Toyota Supra, right? These things are damn-near bullet proof...so 10psi shouldn't kill it, right??

Now I know I'm a bit stupid to be asking about raising the boost on a 7m thats leaking oil but I'm too damn excited and broke/impatient to fix the oil leak and then raise it a few psi.

Question #1: Will doing this to my 7m with its oil leaking be too dangerous? Again, 10psi...not 15psi!

Question #2: Hallman MBC or NXS MBC is good enough?

Hallman: http://www.ebay.com/itm/Hallman-Pro...Parts_Accessories&hash=item3cd4b12cff&vxp=mtr

NXS: http://www.ebay.com/itm/NXS-MANUAL-...Parts_Accessories&hash=item3c9db9eeae&vxp=mtr

sheedy126

Boost Addict
Apr 30, 2012
kennewick
The hallman controller looks like a much better quality.
I've ran one similar to the second mbc and they are very touchy as far as turning them just a hair and raising the boost quite a bit.