the t3d's FIRST "Performance before Appearance" BUILD THREAD!

the t3d

P B4 A
Sep 30, 2006
Titusville, FL
UPDATE 4/12/13!!!! As of now the supra is down for the count. I knew this day would come. I didn't machine the timing over with it bolted to the block for the metal headgasket. I had it later machined to get it close, but as we know now close isn't good enough! Everything else is working flawlessly minus the gasket pissing out coolant so she's gotta come apart again. It sucks for right now but when it's all done I know this time I won't have to worry about it. I will also doing some little upgrades as well while the motor is out. I'm actually pretty excited. REBUILD 2.0 COMING SOON! VERY SOON!

well i'll start off with saying this is my first Supra and i fell in love with this car even before i bought it. my name is Ted and i'm 19. i've never done a motor swap before or rebuilt a motor myself, so with the guidance of my teacher, my own knowledge, some friends, and SM, we'll see how this turns out!

i bought this 1987 Toyota Supra off of IdealSupra (jayson). it started out with the white package, automatic, NA, and 8 different shades of white. haha.

i got rid of that slipping, POS automatic tranny and swapped the r154 tranny in. that was the best thing i did to this far...so far.

i wanted to stick with the 7MGTE. i had the money easy for the 1J swap, but i love the 7M and wanted to see the potential it has. i ordered a JDM motor from Tigerjapanese.com for $1170 shipped because i wanted to start with a decent motor. we took it apart and it turned out to be in pretty good shape. i was able to keep the standard bore for the cylinders, so i was happy.

my goal is for around 400rwhp. i've spent near 8 grand in parts(including the motor). i bought alot of good parts. i didn't want to half-ass ANYTHING, so i went big...well, for me atleast. so, we'll see how it goes!

here's my list of parts i can think of off the top of my head...

LPPRO intercooler piping kit