Stuck Waste Gate, or just a boost leak?

sixpatch

Chaser
Feb 13, 2010
Kernersville, NC
On my 87' 7mgte, I'm spooling right at 6psi (according to the stock gauge) at 3100 rpm, but then it begins to bleed off as RPM's increase. I'm hearing a loud hiss the whole time I spool, but since I'm not familiar with the Supra's, I don't know how much of that is normal.
I've grabbed my wastegate actuator rod and tried to move it by hand, but it doesn't move at all (front to rear). Again, I'm new to supras and not even sure if the gate actuator should allow movement by hand or not.
I'm not hearing any blow off when I occaisonally tip over the 6psi mark, and not even sure if I should hear anything at all. Help!

sixpatch

Chaser
Feb 13, 2010
Kernersville, NC
I've visually inspected all the hoses I can, and found nothing that would produce the loud hiss that I hear while spooling. I'll be sure to check out the bypass valve tomorrow.

sixpatch

Chaser
Feb 13, 2010
Kernersville, NC
Im still wondering about some things. In normal operation, should I hear the famous "TISS!!" when I shift?
Should I maintain 6.25psi from 3100 to Redline? How much drop off should I see?
Is this what they call a "Recirculating System"?
Should I be able to operate my waste gate by hand (while still connected to the bypass valve) using the actuator rod?

Last edited:

GrimJack

Administrator
Dec 31, 1969
Richmond, BC, Canada
idriders.com
sixpatch;1556586 said:
Im still wondering about some things. In normal operation, should I hear the famous "TISS!!" when I shift?
Should I maintain 6.25psi from 3100 to Redline? How much drop off should I see?
Is this what they call a "Recirculating System"?
Should I be able to operate my waste gate by hand (while still connected to the bypass valve)?

Not if you are using a stock bypass valve.

Depends on what gear you are in, and what kind of boost gauge you are using. If you're relying on the stock gauge, well, it's better than guessing, but not by much.

Yes.