sound quality with this sub and box??

mk3 for life!

Project Soupracharged
Can i get some input on this setup in the supra? is it too much? not enough? i got the sub at tweeters for $100 new when they were closing and i figured i'd go ahead and install it. i got the box for $20 at the fleamarket and i dont know if i should port it or not. any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I'm new to all this car audio stuff.

sub is an Alpine Type-X 10"

1,000 watts rms 3,000 peak
Dual voice coil, 4+4 ohms

box is a flea market special

about 2 cubic feet
W 22" H 13" D 11"(top) 14"(bottom)
Sealed box

amp is (going) to be an Alpine PDX-1.1000

1,000 watts
class D
mono amp

Pics
l_afbbbe4e862071b4f4c1771c13ddb1de.jpg

l_fd46b758a5df8afd687d84d82a446968.jpg

Facime

Leather work expert
Jun 1, 2006
Corvallis OR
overkill, lol. But as far as porting goes unless you know exactly what you are doing I recommend going sealed. 2cu/ft sounds about right for that sub. Check the specs for the sub and see whats recommended for a sealed enclosure volume.

Facime

Leather work expert
Jun 1, 2006
Corvallis OR
Im a rock guy too and I prefer a sealed enclosure, but one that is the right size for the sub is important. The box you have is too big by almost double.

Facime

Leather work expert
Jun 1, 2006
Corvallis OR
It will make it a bit boomier, not as tight. You have adaquate amplification and its a quality sub so you shouldnt have a problem with overexcursion.

That box is about the right size to fit two of thos subs though ;)

Anth505

Failte
Apr 8, 2007
Toronto Ontario
For rock, a sealed box usually works best. If you go ported, things get alot more complex. It not as simple as making a hole in the box. it has to be 'tuned' to the specific subwoofer that is being installed. Box size must be close to perfect and the diameter and length of the port must be calculated and tuned to a specific frequency.