Safe PSI rating on Engine Internals

Hello,
I have a 7mgte 1987 Toyota supra (stock engine internal components) pushing 12 psi with stock everything. This is my daily driver, and the only information I have on the car is a pile of reciepts, basically stating the goods which are a performance shortblock, and overhauled CT-26 (stock 7mgte turbo).

Safely, as a daily driver, I am pushing 12 PSI with a shimmed wastegate (trick to turn up the boost using washers in between the wastegate and turbo). I am using 20w-50 synthetic oil for protection. Is this a safe rating, should I immediately upgrade the injectors, Afm to a Lexus Afm, and k&N, and Apexi Safc fuel management system? Or will that require a tune at the shop. Basically, I want to get everything necessary before taking the car to a tuning shop. What all should I invest in for the future starting at the time of this post?

I am asking for a specific answer to the question; What is the reliable Psi rating on stock 7mgte internals.
Thank you ahead of time.

Respectfully.
Ben

Attachments

• 100_1307cop2.jpg
    100_1307cop2.jpg
    224.9 KB · Views: 16

GrimJack

Administrator
Dec 31, 1969
Richmond, BC, Canada
idriders.com
This is an extremely difficult question to answer. The easy answer is somewhere between stock and 700 rwhp, which is the record for stock internals last I heard. Obviously, the high end of that is very difficult to achieve, and the low end is very easy.

A more sensible conversation would be stating what kind of power levels you would like, what you use the car for, and whether you have a budget you need to stay within. Then we can actually provide advice that's relevant to your goals.

Turbo Habanero

Apr 28, 2009
Tucson,AZ
Like stated above it's hard to answer.

But a couple things i can point out is the stock CT-26 turbo is only good until 15psi and the most power i've heard it making is around 300whp

Also i would not push 12psi with stock exhaust/intake Ect..