hurka durka....

91blackeye

The Unrequited Song
Jan 18, 2009
Modesto, Ca
www.facebook.com
alright, so i have been looking for a few days, various other websites, google and whatnot, did some searching here...

i am looking to see if there is perhaps a step by step guide on BHG repair... i have never done this before, not even anything close...most i have ever done personally on a motor is do basic timing adjustments and screw with cams on my 73 celica....

s0o0o0o0o....

he best i have found on here was in the engine internals section, but..it wasn't really quite as in depth as i am really going to be needing..

thanks in advance for any help guys.

this is what i am working with:

sm_photo_missing.jpg

sm_photo_missing.jpg

Last edited:

Mk3runner

Supramania Contributor
Nov 19, 2006
Nor Cal
theres a search function homie... but the jist of it is, remove head, replace hg, get new bolts or studs depending on choice. then flush oil to get coolant out of bearings.

thats the nice way of saying it tho... warped head and tons of other crap can change all that

91blackeye

The Unrequited Song
Jan 18, 2009
Modesto, Ca
www.facebook.com
i just said i have been searching, and i know it is pretty much remove head, clean and remove old gasket, replace gakset, arp the mother, and put it back together. while the head is off, im going to have it resurfaced, and pray to God the block doesnt need the same, mild port and polish of the head, then put it together.

but.... i bought it while it was apart anyway, so i dont really know to put the lego's back together lol.

the pictures i put up are from when i got the car, so.... yeah...i need to replaced valves and crap, don't i? at least the valve stems i'm pretty sure...i have no clue how to do that, and i want to learn. so eff expensive shops that only work on v8's.

thanks haha

Mk3runner

Supramania Contributor
Nov 19, 2006
Nor Cal