Head teardown ?'s

jmcboost

Mar 31, 2005
Missouri
My friend let me use his spare head to get it rebuilt and prep it for a MHG. I would also like to get a port and polish and oversized valves, so here are the questions :

1 . The head has been sitting for a couple of years, is this bad and if so, what should I look for?

2. When I tear down the head, I know I should mark everything and make sure I know where each cap and valve train goes, but do I need any special tools to tear it down, or can I just disassemble?

3. Should I check clearances before I teardown?

4. Does anyone have a list of the things to do when I take it to the shop?

5. Once I get the head finished, how long can I store it for and how should I store it.
This is my first time rebuilding and I don't want to miss anything. Thanks for the help.

GrimJack

Administrator
Dec 31, 1969
Richmond, BC, Canada
idriders.com
0. What IJ said.
1. No, don't worry about it.
2. You will need a special valve compressor tool. Everything else is pretty standard.
3. No, everything will be different when you put it back together anyway.
4. Not off the top of my head - write down what the shop suggests and post it here.
5. Put it on a sheet of corrugated cardboard, sealing side down, and store it as long as you like.

lagged

1991 1JZ
Mar 30, 2005
new rochelle
GrimJack said:
0. What IJ said.
1. No, don't worry about it.
2. You will need a special valve compressor tool. Everything else is pretty standard.
3. No, everything will be different when you put it back together anyway.
4. Not off the top of my head - write down what the shop suggests and post it here.
5. Put it on a sheet of corrugated cardboard, sealing side down, and store it as long as you like.

without the cams installed, unless you like bent valves....

IJ.

Grumpy Old Man
Mar 30, 2005
I come from a land down under
The hardness test is like 30 seconds all they need is an area on each side of the head surface clean of gasket to do it.