Finished my Rear Rhinoliner Project (pics)

Jspec7m88

Dec 3, 2005
Nappy City
Well, I've had the kit and all the necessities to do this for about a year now and never got around to it...and since I had decided to gut out my car...and having the minor leaks that I do, I was starting to get some surface rust that was starting to dig deeper and deeper, so I started.

First off, from the pictures, the bedliner that I laid down looks HORRIBLE in the pictures, not sure why, but after finishing, I was really satisfied with it and I won't have to worry about rust! (At least not anytime soon):icon_conf.
I've been doing bodywork/refinishing/repairing for several years now so it was not a big thing to do, but VERY messy. :cry:

Anyways, Onto the work (if anybody is even interested in doing it).
Whether there's rust or not, use 120-200 Grit Sandpaper and/or Scotchbrite pads to get rid of any surface rust and loose paint.

If you buy the kit, it comes with all the chemical pads you need, otherwise, buy some type of Oil & Grease remover and wipe down all the surface with it.

Next, Make sure everything you don't want sprayed or coated is either masked up or removed.

Now, depending on your paint finish and how bad your rust is, you'll want to spray the area with primer. I just used a rattle can of Black Primer to use an an undercoat.

With the kit I got, it comes with a metal bristle roller so laying down the "Rhinoliner" was pretty simple. It's very messy and splatters everywhere when you "roll" it. I put a total of 3 thick and hefty coats on there and let it dry about an hour or two in between laying down coats.

I'll shut up. You can look at the pictures now. The finished product HONESTLY doesn't show any justice. In person, It looks nice and clean and...simple. A lot of people like the look, some don't. But whatever. I'll say it again, I don't care what other people think. If I did, I'd be driving an MKIV, right?

:biglaugh: :biglaugh:

Jeff

Attachments