difference in powersteering between A70's

hockysa

Hey Guys,

It's my first time driving a 1JZ powered supra.
The Supra is a 1986.5 1JZ converted MA70

My father and I are having conflicting opinions about the powersteering being functional or not.

According to my dad he thinks it's working because it sounds like its working and you can see the fluid flowing in the reservoir and that the heavy nature of the steering wheel is just the way it is.

However I'm not so sure that it should be this heavy...

Does anyone know if the JZA70's were meant to feel heavier than the MA70's by alot?

rayall01

Oct 10, 2008
Westfield, ma
hockysa;1377098 said:
Hey Guys,

It's my first time driving a 1JZ powered supra.
The Supra is a 1986.5 1JZ converted MA70

My father and I are having conflicting opinions about the powersteering being functional or not.

According to my dad he thinks it's working because it sounds like its working and you can see the fluid flowing in the reservoir and that the heavy nature of the steering wheel is just the way it is.

However I'm not so sure that it should be this heavy...

Does anyone know if the JZA70's were meant to feel heavier than the MA70's by alot?

Tires could be the issue with heavy steering, some tires just don't work well with the Supra. What tires do you have?

fonz87

89 Turbo!!!!
Nov 17, 2007
Streamwood, IL
if it's heavy steering feeling, check your lower Ball joints!!! i had this problem and i thought it was my power steering!! My shit popped out while drive and busted my TT rims. My Steering loosen up ALOT! like night and day difference after new Lower Ball Joints installed.

hockysa

rayall01;1377197 said:
Tires could be the issue with heavy steering, some tires just don't work well with the Supra. What tires do you have?

17x9" all around

fonz87;1377236 said: