Checking out a 220k turbo

LoveMySupra

Aug 3, 2008
Socal - USA
There's an ad for a turbo MKIII with 220k miles and a leaking transmission seal.

What precautions should I know about.
I'm new to turbos and would like to know stuff to check out for a 220k car.
If this has been covered let me know, I'll search.

Mainly I wanted to know about a leaky automatic transmission seal. What problems could this have caused?

GotTurbos?

2J = Here; Swap = Near
Apr 24, 2006
Dallas, TX
Honestly? Chances are you're going to want to keep looking. There is almost no chance of that thing not being a huge problem car with that many miles. There are plenty of threads on "what to look for when buying a supra" I'll try to find one of them. What are you looking to get out of the car, a daily driver? A project car?

grimreaper

Jul 2, 2008
Dallas
trans minus 1-3 qt of fluid = bad shifts, missed shifts and no shifts at all, hardened seals, loss of pressure burned up (over heated) pump and fried clutches. IMHO, new one needed depending on the leak and how low its been driven on and the amount of time its been driven low on fluid. but if its a "fresh" leak, you could get lucky. if the trans is leaking and they actually know about it, im HIGHLY doubting they actually changed fluids and did maintenance as needed seeing as how a fully working car is sold alot easier then one with a known and mentioned leak.

suprastanger507mgte

2x88+2x89+1x91+2x92=ME
Apr 5, 2005
Hayward , Ca
GotTurbos?;1105164 said:
Honestly? Chances are you're going to want to keep looking. There is almost no chance of that thing not being a huge problem car with that many miles. There are plenty of threads on "what to look for when buying a supra" I'll try to find one of them. What are you looking to get out of the car, a daily driver? A project car?

Definitely agree here.

ForcedTorque

Join the 92 Owners Group
Jul 11, 2005
Satsuma, Alabama, United States