Capacitor

Fastway135

Nov 7, 2005
Mass
Whats a decent/cheap capacitor to get? I am currently using a Rockford Fosgate P2002. 600w peak power 200w rms. How many Farad and all that stuff. I'm kinda new to audio related things.

Last edited:

WeDgE

Buh-bye 7M...
Jan 2, 2006
Alberta
Capacitors are more for show than anything. Small caps are too small to be useful...Large caps have too high of an ESR value.

If you want to upgrade your electrical system to provide stable power to your amplifiers, upgrade your alternator. :)

Clip

The Magnificent Seven
Oct 16, 2005
Virginia
id say stay away from caps, and go with upgrading the alternator like WeDgE suggested

GrimJack

Administrator
Dec 31, 1969
Richmond, BC, Canada
idriders.com
Upgrading the alternator only works to a point, folks. Admittedly, I have done this as well, even so, I've had very good luck with a 1 farad cap. I think I'm running a fair bit more power than you, though. :)

Leftovers from my foolish youth...

MassSupra89

Almost done.
Nov 3, 2005
MA
My friends got 2000watts to his speakers and 4500 to his sub. Also has other little electrical toys... No cap.
He beat the shit out of alternators til he finally gave in a bought a yellow top and alternator meant for that power and hasn't had problems since.

Turbo. Targa. Life.

SupraMania Shirt Slinger!
Apr 16, 2005
O'Fallon, MO
www.geocities.com
Dave, hate to argue with you, but they're right. Caps are a waste of money. Upgrade your alternator, get a larger battery or even a seperate battery for your system, hell even run 2 alternators and you'll have plenty of amperage.

Topher E

Trance Head
Aug 4, 2005
Vacaville
Your still going to need the stored enegry to compensate for when the sub hits other wise if its drawing too much of a load the lights in the car may start to flicker. Correct me if i am wrong.

bigaaron

Supramania Contributor
Apr 12, 2005
Pomona, CA
www.driftmotion.com
Topher E said: