7mgte troubles

Aaronrbrts

Nov 19, 2011
Sidney oh
So I'm new to supras picked up an 88 7mgte for 1500 thing was a wreck, I've done alot to it but I'm having problems previous owner had head gone through put a 3 layer steel gasket and arp bolts I added new manifold seals on intake side and new radiator. The exhaust manifold has 2 to 3 bolts stripped out and I will be putting inserts in Tuesday. But as is the boost gauge is reading vacuum of 20 psi and no boost when giving it gas so I took off the aftermarket bov and I don't feel hardley any air flowing thru the tube, the turbo has no shaft play at all but I can't tell if it's functioning properly, I don't know how honestly, it also has absolutely no power and over heats I made sure there are no air bubbles in system and it currently has no thermostat waterpump is flowing and fan works could leaking exhaust manifold on a turbo car cause both those or do i have two separate problems.. Help!

SupraCorwin

Shadow
Oct 14, 2008
Washington
Well i can point out the easy stuff to start.

Is you boost gage hooked up properly?
All your vac lines hooked up and in the right spots?
Is there coolant leaking or boiling out of the reservoir?
Any color of smoke coming from the tail pipe?
Did the previous owner deck the block or mill the head? Not having done either with a metal head gasket is a fast track to BHG (over heating much?)

Yes having a leaky exhaust mani can cause all sorts of problems, and so can having the metal head gasket with no surfacing done. Check your oil for milkshake.

barkz

Sep 14, 2010
Afghanistan
you say ur not getting boost when u give it gas...are u DRIVING or just sitting there revving it? u wont see a boost reading on ur gauge if ur just sitting there revving it

Ron Crites

May 4, 2011
Prescott Valley AZ.