AEM Tuning.

empera

Authorized Vendor
Mar 30, 2005
Philly.
Didn't see a thread directly involved with tuning. I'll be the first to say that I'm not a professional and i shouldn't be attempting to tune, especially under boost. But i have a small understanding of whats going on. So my question is, the car is pretty much tuned to idle and its able to rev pretty smoothly but i am wondering how can i make it drivable enough to take to a shop to get tuned? Should i use the auto map feature or should i just use the follow ecu option to add or remove fuel at certain points?

Anyway if you have any useful information or if i should have posted this in a diff. thread/forums please let me know.

Thanks
-emp.

turbo joe

Aug 14, 2007
Corona, CA
www.turbojoe.com
You can post pretty much whatever you want here regarding standalone ECUs. :)

As to your question...short of finding a shop that has a map for a setup that's identical to yours (and is willing to part with it), IMO, you would be best off to tune it as much as you can -- driveability-wise -- before you take it to a dyno.

Just do it the old-fashioned way...drive it around and add or subtract fuel from the cells you're in at a given time until you find the rich and lean drop off points(stumbles from being too rich or too lean). For part-throttle and tip-in throttle, just go up from the lean stumble until you get smooth and crisp throttle.

figgie

Supramania Contributor
Mar 30, 2005
Twin Cities, Minnesot-ah
a bit of advice.

The cells should be smooth from one cell to the next. If you look at your fuel inj in a 3d graph, it should be smooth. No jagged teeth/edges.

empera

Authorized Vendor
Mar 30, 2005
Philly.
^^ yea i remember reading the same but thanks for the tip.