Where to mount a engine/tranny oil cooler?

Apollonius

Feb 5, 2008
Houston, TX
Purchased alot of parts recently to redo my entire cooling system. Including all the parts shown below ;)

I had planned to install the coolers between the radiator and AC system however there is not any room for this. I need ideas/help on where to and how to go about mounting them.

I try to do things right the first time so I don't have to do it again, which is why I spent nearly 1800 bucks when all I had was a small radiator leak heh. Read alot of information from here and other sites. I am not a mechanic by any means but i have learned alot since I got my car from forums like this and others.

This is the first time I have attempted something of this scale and have no idea how to go about custom mounting any of it.

sm_photo_missing.jpg

One other thing, this is part of the fan and not the Water pump? Want to make sure its okay to remove permanently.

sm_photo_missing.jpg

Apollonius

Feb 5, 2008
Houston, TX
A little more information.

I went with two B&M Coolers the following dimensions:
10 in. x 11 in. x 1 1/2 in.
5 3/ 4 in. x 11 in. x 1 1/ 2 in.

And two 13 in. electric perma-cool fans

jdub

Official SM Expert: Motor Oil, Lubricants & Fil
SM Expert
Feb 10, 2006
Valley of the Sun
Read this for the routing of the remote oil filter/cooler circuit:
http://www.supramania.com/forums/showthread.php?t=62838

You should be able to mount the smaller cooler for the oil at/near the stock location.

My auto tranny cooler is mounted forward of the driver's side wheel well behind the fog light. There is limited air flow here...I used a 9" Spal low profile fan (part #30100608) mounted to the cooler. Mine is hard wired to be always running when the motor is, but a better idea is to have it switched to come on at 160-175 deg like this B&M:
http://store.summitracing.com/partd...#37;2D70298&N=700+4294854215+115&autoview=sku