Time to rebuild. PICs updated as i go.

WonIt

Air ,Fuel ,Spark!
Feb 26, 2006
Front Royal,VA
Alrighty people its time to tear into this thing. My car is a 89' white package, turbo, 5spd. About a year ago my last engine developed a bad case of rod knock , so i snatched it out and threw another in along with the 5spd swap. Engine ran good when it was in the donor car. I did the not so smart thing and didnt put a HG,or bearings in it before i put it in. So now ofcourse it has a BGH ,and a slight case of rod knock.

I am going to rebuild the first engine. As for my HP goals i am looking for 350rwhp . I want it to be reliable of course, not gonna be a DD but when i drive it i want to be able to drive it hard without it breaking it. I have never built an engine before,but i have done just about everything else.

my mods so far are:
-BIC DDP
-BIC test pipe
-custom 3" exhaust
-Cooleeze Hardpipes
-Greddy RS bov
-Cooleeze Hard Intake

things i have but not installed:
-SAFC NEO
-LEX afm
- 60 trim CT26- in need of rebuild
-Manual Boost controller

Things on my list to buy for HP goal:
-550's
-FMIC
-Walbro FP
-decent clutch
-MHG

Now back to things i need to do to get the engine ready. I am looking for any advice ,or to be pointed in the rite direction if im wrong here. this is what i have on my list of to do's:
-Hot tank ,and deck block
-have crank checked/repaired or replaced if necessary
-All new bearings,seals and gaskets
-have head decked
-replace piston rings
-replace freeze plugs
-new oil pump
-ARP hardware

As of now i only have 1 question. if i need to get oversized bearings,or different sized ones where can i get them? the places i have seen offer oversized ,or stock size. what if i need 1 oversized and the rest stock size? just replace crank? i was looking at the ACL bearings,from what i have read they are decent. any input?

heres a few pics of the car,and one of the engine:

p993083_1.jpg

p993083_2.jpg

p993083_3.jpg

p993083_4.jpg

p993083_5.jpg

Last edited: