passenger headlight issue

arashi

Aug 17, 2011
AL
ok so first off i want to say i know its a ground issue. with that said lets begin.

well i got my car from a friend and it had a BHG, and now since the bhg the passenger headlight has been dim as hell ever since. i pulled out the headlight and someone previously changed the headlights to whatever the hell brand that takes bulbs. so i looked at the bulb (h4) and it looked like one of the arms on the inside was burnt. i ran to the parts store and bought a $10 bulb and that didn't solve it.

i then used a voltmeter and tested all the plugs and figured out which was which, and the pos's was fine, the neg on the other hand was showing up as anywhere from 5-6. im not that good with electrical shit but im pretty sure it should be 12 right? well my dad said that i should splice into it cause i might have a bad ground and i did. i connected the wire to the body and it jumped the neg to low 11's. i tested the light, and its still dim but not as bad as bad. but no where near living with.

another thing i've noticed is that when i switch from low to high beams it dims out then comes back slowly. is this cause of the bad ground?

also its dim when the car is on and off, and the battery is good (cause why would it just be one light and not the other). i also checked the fuses in the fuse box under the hood.

i'm thinking of just cutting the neg instead of splicing into it with the 12g wire i have attached to it right now. or will that not work?

arashi

Aug 17, 2011
AL
so the 15 fuse that is under the hood needs replaced even though its not blown? and i thought fuses was for power (+) to go through not not the neg. the fuse is to prevent a power surge to blow something. but ill try switching the fuses around to see if that changes anything cause the driver side is fine.

also are you saying that the red/white wire is the positive and the other two are the ground wires?

Poodles

I play with fire
Jul 22, 2006
Fort Worth, TX