On the market for a new airfilter. Need some advice.

Suitcase Jefferson

Sep 28, 2010
Canada, eh?
www.furstatic.com
Howdy everyone,

I'm on the slow, costly road of upgrading my Supra. I think I may start with a new air filter, as mine is still OEM and who-knows-how-old.

I was leaning towards the K&N at first, but I did a quick search on this forum (gasp) and found out it was rubbish. Now I'm looking at getting the Apexi. http://www.suprastore.com/apsuinkitsum.html

I have an '89 Turbo.

How easy is this to install? I'm a complete noob when it comes to upgrading. Would I have to do any mods, or need any other parts for it to fit properly?

Is there really any benefit to upgrading the airfilter from stock? Would I need to remove the airbox?

Thanks for your time,
Suitcase

Jay C

Sep 30, 2010
Omaha, NE
That is a decent intake. It won in the shootout a while ago from what I read for most hp and also best filtration I haven’t used it but that is the one I am going to get so I did some research on it. I have installed after market intakes like that one on other vehicles and you do replace the restrictive airbox as that is where the gains come from. I believe the article I read stated that it increased horsepower by like 13 but every vehicle is different. It shouldn’t take you long at all with just some basic hand tools. Good luck and let me know what ya think.

hvyman

Dang Dude! No Way Man.
Staff member
Apr 17, 2007
Fullerton,CA
Apexi or aem dryflow. Stay away from k&n as they suck for both Afm and some map and filter like crap. Hype aint everything.

Apexi has the best stats and same with aem.

Piece if cake to install.
With that I got a apexi and love it. Still looks brand new on the inside and it's years old now.

giterboosted

cure for the common rice
Nov 3, 2007
toccoa ga