no rod bearing on # 1

rustfarmer

Jul 20, 2009
Centerville, TN
Just tore down my JDM "low mileage" that trashed a rod bearing within 100 miles of changing to synthetic oil. The rod bearing for # 1 was entirely gone (remnants in the pan) and I've built many engines but this is the first time I've found the bearing entirely gone. Usually the spun bearing is melted down the rod cap and this engine went from no knock to small knock to big knock in 10 miles or less. I'm new to the 7m and wonder if this engine normally thrashes # 1 first? Engine was running well just prior and showing 20psi oil at hot idle and better than 10psi per 1k rpm. I am hoping to avoid a full tear down by doing crank and new oil pump and checking #1 rod big end and wonder if I can pull #1 piston down enough to remove rod from bottom end (I haven't looked to see if this is possible yet). I have so much in this project (son's car) I wish to avoid the expense of total rebop, but am seeking expert advice and might actually follow it! Thanks for any and all comments. RF

suprarich

Nov 9, 2005
ohio
Got to turn that motor off as soon as any knock sound is heard. I hate to say this, but you can try to just repair the damaged parts and see what happens, but I think in the near future you will be doing it again. Now that the rod bearing has come apart, you will find metal particals through out the entire motor. They will bed themselves in the other bearings and the cams as well. For your quick repair, you will want to change all the bearings and clean out everything that you can. You will prob have to re-finish that #1 journal also.

I would suggest a full tear down, but if you don't mind throwing the dice, the quick fix may work.

Poodles

I play with fire
Jul 22, 2006
Fort Worth, TX
rustfarmer;1656495 said: