Need new sound system

masterchief819

Apr 4, 2006
us
Finally am giving in to all the criticism my 19 year old speakers and stereo are getting in my sup. So I've been looking into getting a new system. Just a few quick questions:

Theres only 4 speakers, correct? ('88 n/a model)

Are front's and rears both 4"?

Any recommendations on speakers?

Thanks!

I have an 87 turbo model and it has 4 4" speakers. Not that I'm an auduio expert but I have 2 sets of 4" Alpines. Not a lot of bass but I have subs I need to put in so i'm no too concerned. I don't know what 4" speakers would put out decent bass. The alpines sound good to me, it also depends on how much you want to spend.

I have heard of people modifying the speaker brackets to fit bigger speakers in. Maybe talk to a local audio shop and see if they have any ideas...or wait for someone else to post here, that always works

masterchief819

Apr 4, 2006
us
Yeah I've read about making some custom speakers pods out of mdf to fit like 5.25" or 6" speakers or something. But I'm lazy and tbh, anything right now is better than my half rotted system lol. I think I'll be getting a sub too so 4" should do fine.

s383mmber1

Oct 31, 2005
Somers New York
I have pioneer's in the front, and a brand named durolast in the rears.

Very in exspensive speaker that i purchased at walmart. They go very loud and i have no distortion what so ever. Sound great! Alot of bass to.

Not bad for 20 bucks a pair ;)

masterchief819

Apr 4, 2006
us
Fletch124 said:
If your gunna get subs look at Alpine X-types. They sound the best by far!
I doubt I'll need 3000w of woofer to fill the cabin of a supra ;) . too far out of my price range anyways lol...

Was thinking about a single 12" type-r from alpine though...

GotToyota?

Dedicated Member
Apr 6, 2005
Texas Motor Speedway
Fletch - An Alpine Type X speaker is FAR too much for a simple/upgraded audio system, that is a subwoofer used in sound competitions, and they're huge as far as depth goes.