Fresh Head....Scared to death!

cinciguy89turbo

Zero to Sixty
Apr 7, 2009
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
I will be picking my head up machine shop after dropping my valve stem into the cylinder tomorrow :3d_frown: (I'm sure we all remember this thread)

Idk if I'm going to be able to sleep tonight because I'm so paranoid that I'm going to F something up tomorrow. I pick my head up 10:30, and I have all day to work on it. Do you guys think I will finish tomorrow? Newbie here...first time tearing into an engine, and I probably picked the wrong one to start with.

Also any last minute advice??? Got ARP studs btw...torque wrenches, the right stuff, felpro head gasket set...

Thanks for helping me out through this guys.

suprabones

Sep 12, 2007
Cleveland Ohio
Just take it slow and do things right and you will be just fine.. If you have problems or questions as you go, just do some searches on here. You can learn a lot from this forum.

On a Felpro HG, dont plan to push to to much boost..

Also just a note on assembly with ARP headstuds, make sure you have a thin wall 14mm 12 point deep well socket.. That is a must have socket..

Hope all goes well.

-Matt.

92nsx

Supramania Contributor
Sep 30, 2005
Clearwater, MN
Yep, do not use a felpro head gasket ;) LOL the last one I used lasted 73 miles, and several horror stories about them here on sm.

Another MkIII

Feb 22, 2009
Chicago