Drop-in LED Headights

MarkIII4Me

Project OVERKILL!!!
Apr 10, 2005
Charleston, SC
I remember seeing a post a while back about some, but they didn't look anything like these. The JW Speaker LED's have high and low beams built into the housings as well as daytime running light. They're available with either a black or chrome innner bezel. They look pretty cool, but at over $1100 a set, I honestly don't see too many MKIII owners running out to get a pair.

http://www.jwspeaker.com/products/headlights/model-8900-5x7-rectangular.pdf

89001_1.jpg

JW-8900B-5T.jpg

[video=youtube;uiQdDGivFY0]http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=uiQdDGivFY0#![/video]

Personally, I'd love to see someone rock these on an MKIII. Sadly won't be me since the funds won't allow.

Last edited:

suprarx7nut

YotaMD.com author
Nov 10, 2006
Arizona
www.supramania.com
I've been holding out on headlight upgrades for a few years because I want a lasting and high end upgrade. A high quality LED upgrade would be perfect. $1100 for a pair though..... ouch.

MarkIII4Me

Project OVERKILL!!!
Apr 10, 2005
Charleston, SC
yhatzee89;1941641 said:
I dont think those are DOT approved, HIDs aren't even DOT approved in some cities/states so LEDs might be in the same boat

They are in fact DOT compliant. Forward to 7:15 in the video and he talks about it.

MarkIII4Me

Project OVERKILL!!!
Apr 10, 2005
Charleston, SC
suprarx7nut;1941637 said:
I've been holding out on headlight upgrades for a few years because I want a lasting and high end upgrade. A high quality LED upgrade would be perfect. $1100 for a pair though..... ouch.

What burns me is even though the housing is aluminum, the lens is plastic. Freakin plastic?!! Are u kiddin me?!!!! If I was spending almost $600 a piece, I'd be royally pissed if they yellowed after a few years.

yhatzee89

Joe Yantz
Aug 31, 2012
San Antonio, TX
MarkIII4Me;1941642 said:
They are in fact DOT compliant. Forward to 7:15 in the video and he talks about it.