Dirt stuck in taillight? ideas?

Insidious Surmiser

Formerly 89jdm7m
May 12, 2006
Oceanfront
I have an 89+ tail light (right side) that has quite a bit of dirt stuck inside of it. I've tried everything to get it out, but it just gets stuck even worse. Is there a way to completely take them apart? Using a heat gun or something? Seems like a good way to damage the assembly, but I'm no expert. :1zhelp:

Maple191

Mar 21, 2012
Toronto
Once you have the tail light off the car and the oem seal is off. Youll see 6 or 7 small brass/gold coloured circles. They are actually screws that dont have a head on them. If you have a dremal use it to cut a slit into the heads and use a slotted screwdriver to the take them out. Then you have to heat the tail light till its nice and warm BUT NOT HOT. So either i stove will do at its lowest setting. Or a heat gun around the lense edges DO NOT let the heat gun stay in one spot too long (I found out the hard way and had to replace the tail light I just got) and pry it off very carefully.

AbsoluteSpeed

Aug 8, 2007
Edmonton AB
Basically what he is saying is, do this:
p2017597_1.jpg

Those are my tail lights as of right now and it's a real PITA job. Getting all the original glue out takes hours, I started rushing and broke one of the lenses inside so I bought another tail light and started over.

It will be worth it in the end because I couldn't stand the crap sitting in there.

Edit: Instead of using an oven (because you wife/girlfriend/mother will kill you if you try) I filled a sink with HOT water and submerged the tail lights, it softened the glue and with a bit of effort the two halves separated.

mirage83

Mar 21, 2008
Georgia
Hot water would definitely be the safer route to go. Tried the oven with one of mine which was really gummed up inside with gunk, ended up tossing it as I let it get too warm. Called it a "Learning Experience", cussed a fair amount and decided that there had to be less risky ways to do it.

AbsoluteSpeed