Block/head engineering question

80083r

I'm not an engineer... I can't afford to go to school, and I'm not driven enough to eat ramen for 4 years and do it anyway (besides, I'm 40 - I'm too old for ramen).

That said - I'm smart, technical guy, and I can't find an answer to this question. I'm hoping that some of the more experienced members can answer this:

Why does the block have a water jacket rather than simply bores with water flowing? I have half-assed idea why, but I would like confirmation. You would need a large number of bores, I think to achieve the same heat transfer - has it ever been tried that way? Is it just simply cheaper and easier to do it with a hollow around the cylinder walls? Is it a weight issue?

hvyman

Dang Dude! No Way Man.
Staff member
Apr 17, 2007
Fullerton,CA
Im confused. There is no seperate water jacket around each bore if thats what your thinking. water flows around both sides of all the bores and the front and back. The bores are too close together for the water to flow inbetween each bore.

80083r

BlockSketch.png

Pics did help.

Top is standard water jacket - hatched area is water.
Bottom is my other thought - hatched area is water.

Two factors come into play here - volume of water, and speed of flow. The water jacket has a HUGE volume of water to sink heat into.

My thought was that if you had bores (like the lower image) where water was pumped in from the bottom and flowed out the top, it would carry more heat away. I think that in order to balance flow to carry heat away (fast) vs flow to absorb heat in the block (slow) the bores would be much less efficient than having a large volume of water that flows moderately as is the case with actual blocks (?).

Crazy question make sense now? The answer I think is obvious now.

toyotanos

What will we break today?
Staff member
Super Moderator
Nov 29, 2008
Coon Rapids, MN
My take on the situation, mostly opinions and first thought stuff here: