Bent cylinder head help

tig321

Mar 13, 2006
Edmonton/Victoria
I just bought a 1990 supra turbo a few weeks ago and have blown the headgasket. My plans are to build the engine for 350+ rwhp and build some custom parts with my miller dynasty 200dx tig welder. :icon_bigg
but since I just bought the car I can't afford that right now.

My problem is that cyl head is out about 15-17 thou across both the cam and combustion sides. (bent down from the heat too much heat I geuss) Its still a decent head aside from this.

I have heard of people heating/bending other heads straght but I'm having are hard time finding solid info.

Has anyone here tried this?

I am a welder who works in a machine/welding shop and I have access to the equipment needed Including a small 5ton and not so small 80ton press.
I also have a junk head to practice on so if anyone has any tips, or links I'd really appreciate it.
The machinists I work with all think Its a bad idea, but I'm sure I'ts been done before.

Should I just pull the block and buy a used JDM engine?

I'd like to give bending a try since I have nothing to lose anyway.

Last edited:

GrimJack

Administrator
Dec 31, 1969
Richmond, BC, Canada
idriders.com
My machinist baked mine flat - fastened it down to a flat block of steel, then threw it in the oven overnight.

Before you do anything, test it for hardness on the exhaust side. If it's going soft, don't bother trying to fix anything, just find a better one.

supra90turbo

shaeff is FTMFW!
Mar 30, 2005
MA, 01440
Just put it under your knee and pull, kind of like when you're trying to break a branch. Hold it there for an hour or so while your buddy holds a propane torch to the other end.

Satan

Supramania Contributor
Mar 31, 2005
Tampa