57 trim ok to run on stock setup?

SupraChrisMk3

New Booster
Feb 8, 2006
Salisbury, Vermont, United States
Hey guys, I'm in the middle of my headgasket repair and I found that after removing my stock turbo that it has A LOT of shaft play side to side. So I've pretty mch decided its time for a new turbo while I'm doing the HG. I'm leaning towards getting a 57trim CT26 from driftmotion. However, I need to know if it's ok to run this turbo on a stock setup(i.e. fuel, ecu, afm). I guess my biggest question is even though I don't plan on really turning the boost up for a while will the stock fuel setup be ok for this. I'm not planing anything too crazy for this setup, probably just 10psi with a MBC. I'm new to the turbo scene after having an 89' N/A for a few years, I decided to step up. Thanks for the help.

Poodles

I play with fire
Jul 22, 2006
Fort Worth, TX
As it will run the stock wastegate with the stock spring, yes, it will be fine as boost levels will be the same. It might flow slightly more and increase power a bit, but it's not going to hurt anything and fuel cut is always there to stop engine damage.

rayall01

Oct 10, 2008
Westfield, ma
Yeah, if you run stock boost levels, you should be OK, but don't raise boost until you get the supporting mods, or fuel cut will be your constant companion.

Mar 14, 2006
Brooklyn, NY
So 10psi with a 57trim on a stock setup minus intake and exhaust wont harm the car? I have been pondering this also but figured it would be a waste of time unless i had other mods i.e. injectors wideband piggybacks.

rayall01

Oct 10, 2008
Westfield, ma
I was boosting about nine psi until I replaced my exhaust system, then I started getting fuel cut. Now that I have a 3 inch exhaust, and a new intercooler and pipes, I definitely had to bring boost back to stock levels. I have no fuel cut issues now, even with the upgrades I have, but I do miss the extra boost.

ft413

learner
Sep 23, 2008
EL