1st build what did I miss

Fergie76

May 12, 2009
Hendersonville NC
Well as i said in my other thread I am new to the supra community and would love to have input or advise on my build

My goal is a 300+\- hp car that will be a daily driver around the mountains of North Carolina. Responsive in the turns but will not rattle my brains out on some of the worst highways in the world.

The car is a bone stock 1990 Turbo, Tems, Targa, 5 speed
from Ohio

Suspension:
Black Energy Suspension control arm bushings front and rear
RK rear strut rod and steering rack bushings
Tokico Illumina II
Tanabe Sway bars F&R
Beech Rear end links ?? not sure yet
Eibach Springs
Tokico Illumina II

Engine:
tear engine down complete rebuild little on the tight side of oem clearances
new oem oil pump shim and add washers to spring
AZP Oil Pump Supply Kit or build something like it
The machine shop says he can get an ra of 15 or better on the block and head
new arp studs
Cometic 7M MLS headgasket
oem gasket kit
oem bearings
good 3 angle valve job
gasket match intake and exhaust remove all casting marks and smooth out inside
stock cams
helicoil exhaust studs
stock turbo
delete elbow
2.5 inch downpipe w/ flex
hi flow cat and custom 2.5 inch exhaust
APEXI Power Intake in custom box

I want to keep as much of the stock look inside as possible

I am planning on doing most of the work myself and I have more time than money. I don't want to spend money
on things I don't need, but I would hate to look back and say I wish I had done this or that.

Basic Questions:
If the car can breathe good can I reach 300 hp with with stock electronics

Is 2.5 inch exhaust enough or do i need 3 inch for my goals

Should I add or Subtract any thing from this list to make this build last or reach my goals

Last edited:

NewWestSupras

SoupLvr
Mar 1, 2006
White Rock