1jz or 2jz

Status
Not open for further replies.

arizzle

Lov'in the boost.
Nov 1, 2006
burnaby, BC
hey guys well, i got a big dilemma im deciding on a motor swap and i just stuck on what to choose. Im not really experienced with the two motors on reliability and performance wise. the reason for the swap is that I've got rod knock and i was thinking of building my 7m with all forged internals but just the fact its going to be almost the same as a 1j or a 2j swap. if anyone has any info on these motors like pros and cons on both please let me know:1zhelp:.

or should i just stick with the 7m and build it up. My 7m mods are on my sig.

JustinGotA1j

Jan 28, 2007
Chilliwack
Rodknock eh? that sucks! You should come by the meet this sunday at randy's shop and take a look at his 1j swap and my jza70 and if jeremy shows up take a look at his 2j swapped car. its gonna come down to you own personal preference though in the end. 2j's are a bit more work to swap in from what I've read but parts can be found at any toyota dealer etc and 1js are a bit easier to swap but are a bit trickier finding parts but are easily enough sourced from japan and only take about a week to get here. Plus most aftermarket parts are going to have to be sourced from far and wide for a 2j where we have randy and such locally that already makes a bunch of wonderful parts for the 1j. Or you could stay 7m.

arizzle

Lov'in the boost.
Nov 1, 2006
burnaby, BC
JustinGotA1j;1084572 said: