1JZ-GTE VVT-i JZX100 vs. 1JZ-GTE JZA70 Engine Differences

suprastroker88

Supra Tuner
Jul 16, 2008
Bay Area, CA
I'm sorry if this has been covered already but I wasnt able to find anything. I just recieved a 1jzgte vvti jxz100 motor in trade for a rebuilt 7m. I'm considering building it even though I really wanted a 2jz. But my question is what is the difference between the jxz100 vvti and the supra 1jz? Besides the jzx100 having vvti and a single ct15 turbo. Are there any other parts that would need to be swapped out versus those of a supra jza70 1jz? Is the wiring alot different? Sorry if these are noob questions but I'm new to the swap game

mkiiichip

Sep 10, 2007
WI
The wiring is different, intake runners, exhaust ports, basically the entire head is different.

suprastroker88

Supra Tuner
Jul 16, 2008
Bay Area, CA
I know the blocks are the same. But with the heads being so different because of the vvti and stuff, are there any other changes I have to make to get it to run correctly in a mk3 vs if it was a jza70 1jz? The harnesses will be sent out for conversion.

Vrank!!!

hahahahaha
Dec 17, 2009
TX
mkiiichip;1765953 said:
The wiring is different, intake runners, exhaust ports, basically the entire head is different.

wrong mostly.

Intake side of the head is dead nuts same. I have a non vvti lower intake with side feed 440s from a tt on my vvti 1jz.
also, wiring it into any car is the same concept. +b to +b, mrel to mrel, sta to sta, etc. It's all toyota so its simple. find what needs power and give it power.

theres a pretty decent vvti thread on club lexus. Oh, and if you bought this from that boyd dude then I have the maf and igniter you need.