Suprarx7nut 's 7MGE BHG repair job done right (hopefully)

suprarx7nut

YotaMD.com author
Nov 10, 2006
Arizona
www.supramania.com
Alright folks, I'm beginning the removal of the head and I'll try to document it and provide somewhat of a how-to for the 7MGE. I'm a rookie when it comes to head removal, so please, ANY TIPS are greatly appreciated.

If any of you experts/veterans notice any potential or current flaws please let me know. I'm on a budget, but I want to do this right.

Things for preparation:
-disconnect negative lead from battery.
-prepare MANY ziploc bags. You're a damn fool if you think you can remember where all these bolts will go.

Pics of my progress:

Starting product:
p891909_1.jpg

Gloves are VERY crucial when working in Colorado in January in a poorly insulated garage. It's 10F outside.
p891909_2.jpg

I started by removing the accordion. When pulling this off remember the connector and the vacuum line.
p891909_3.jpg

Intake accordion off, here's what the rest of the intake looks like, durrr. Notice the high quality black duct tape. :)
p891909_4.jpg

I decided to move to the exhaust now. Gotta get the shield off which requires an awkward removal of the O2 sensor. California Spec dipsticks are in the way for this. I think non-cali cars will have easier access.
p891909_5.jpg

I now jacked up the car and drained the coolant from the radiator. The drain bolt at the exhaust manifold will be removed and drained after the exhaust is all out of the way.

Alternator removed. I hadn't ever done this before, but follow the TSRM and you should figure it out. Watch for the nut on the long threaded stud that allows tightening of the belt. I didn't find this right away. :)
p891909_6.jpg

Now I removed the throttle body. All the hoses simply pull off, but may very well need some persuading from a small flathead screwdriver.
p891909_7.jpg