Megasquirt thread: Megasquirt and You

gennro

Mar 12, 2008
Alamogordo, NM
Hi all I have been getting more and more questions about Megasquirt lately. So I am going to create a thread to help everyone out and answer some generic questions.

My background on this I have been running Megasquirt since 2006. I have a pretty good understanding of it and what it takes to install and run most engines. Right now I currently run Megasquirt 2 v3.57, 2.1.0d Extra code, and EDIS 6 for ignition control. This is installed on my 1990 toyota supra with a 1JZ.

Go here for you basic questions about Megasquirt that is not specific towards the supra and M/JZ series motors. I'll be going for more a specific questions aimed towards Supras.
http://www.bgsoflex.com/megasquirt.html

Guess I can start with some Q&A here

Q: How hard is Megasquirt to install on XM/JZ motor and is their a PnP version available?

A: How hard something to install depends on anyone's knowledge and technical expertise. Now I am not going to say anyone can do but with reading and research I believe any person with the right skill set and patients can install it. I started out knowing nothing about MS or standalones when I started and with no one around to help me just the MS forums and manuals. Now www.diyautotune.com builds a DIY PnP MS2 for the 7M engine but it is not Plug and Play you still have to do some soldering and research to get it running.

Q: Can I use all the stock sensors with the MS2?

A: Yes and no on this question. You can use all the stock sensors with certain modifications done to the MS2 it self such as to read the 7Ms stock CPS. On the JZ series of motors the MS will not work with the stock ignitor so you have to find another solution for ignition control.

Q: Can I pay someone to install and tune the MS for me?