JE piston carnage! lots of pics

lintlars

ROOTS RADICALS
Apr 1, 2005
Ft.St.John BC
www.cardomain.com
Ok ive been running these pistons for about 6 years first on a upgraded ct now the last summer it was on a gt35r w 680 injectors the amazing thing is all pistons had major damage but a leak down test came out good less than 4%for all cylinders except #3 and the HG remained in place (cometic) even the head has heat damage MY AFR was always rich 10s with the 680s even under WOT can too much fuel cause this type of damage? I was at the track when I started to notice I was getting major blowby I was running 50/50 c16 and 92 octane anyways the first shot is of the damage to the combustion chamber of the head enjoy!
most of the damage is located on the intake side of the pistons

piston #1

piston 2 4 5 6

piston #3 had a 50% leak down these are all shots of that

heres the cylinder wall of #3 and #4

Last edited:

Reign_Maker

Has cheezberger
Aug 31, 2005
Florida
Man, that's a lot of build up... Yes, running rich, that rich will cause a lot of carbon deposits like that... You change your spark plugs often? ;) How fouled up were they?

And I would say that running them for 6 years, two different turbo set ups, and Im sure on the GT35 you were gettin good power, I would say you did REALLY well... I would be happy as hell to get 6 long solid years of fun out of my set up...

What were they bored over? I wouldnt go more than .050 over, .040 is really the highest I would go, but you can go .050 over... And when you tune again, tune for mid 11's on the AFs...

lintlars

ROOTS RADICALS
Apr 1, 2005
Ft.St.John BC
www.cardomain.com
hahha thats not carbon build up thats missing aluminium Ive never had fouled plugs and the plugs were always brown and my pistons are 83 mm not sure on the cylinder bore 30 thou over I believe

lintlars

ROOTS RADICALS
Apr 1, 2005
Ft.St.John BC
www.cardomain.com