Spec clutch problems?

$pecialk91Turbo

Apr 10, 2005
Tampa
Has anyone had any problems with spec clutches failing prematurely? I bought my stage 1 about 2 years ago when I did a tranny swap and I've only put about 10,000 miles on it. I don't usually drive it hard because I've been pulled over it Tampa about 15 times now for my exhaust, but the other day I was stretching her legs a little and it started to slip at full boost.. this sucks.

I make 267rwhp and I think it was about 280ft-lbs. The clutch has been awesome untill now.

annoyingrob

Boosted member
Jul 5, 2006
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Yes I have heard of Spec clutches failing prematurely.

But I have zero experience with them personally, so it's really just hearsay at this point. For all I know, the bad spec clutches I've seen were piss-poot install jobs. I wouldn't take my opinion to mean anything :)

oscolivar1

Supraism
Feb 8, 2006
Virginia beach
i dont like spec, i almost went that route.

go with clutchmasters, competition, etc.
i have the HPF bronze clutch

i do hear Spec has very good customer service, u should call them.

Fletch124

2jz swapped!
Jul 17, 2005
Reno, Nevada
oscolivar1 said:
i do hear Spec has very good customer service, u should call them.

Highly agree, I emailed them with a problem and the next morning i had a reply by someone out there that seemed VERY intent to help me.

xarewhyayen

276 whp - 324 tq @ 13psi
Oct 3, 2005
Philly
How's that aluminum flywheel holding up? Did you take it easy for a break in period? How much torque is the stage 1 rated for?

suprarich

Nov 9, 2005
ohio
xarewhyayen said:
How's that aluminum flywheel holding up? Did you take it easy for a break in period? How much torque is the stage 1 rated for?

A stage one is rated for 400 ft lbs, which a bpu 7m should be close to the max on a stage 1. For a bpu set up you should be running a stage 2.

LumbChuck

Jan 16, 2006
Charleston, SC