Possible grounding problem?

7M4EVR

Oct 8, 2012
fah, fah away
First off here is what happened: I put all fluids in and was getting ready for my first-start moment...I set the battery in the tray, connected the positive first, then when i went to connect the negative it sparked like mad :aigo: But as i pressed the cable onto the battery terminal it stopped. I wasn't sure if that was normal or not? So I continued to pull the coils off and was going to prime the engine with oil before first start up. However when i went in to turn the key I get no dash lights, no clicking no nothing, like the battery isnt even hooked up.

I'm not very good with electrical at all, in fact I'm horrible, but I have a multi meter and I will do my best to put in the work and rule out anything you guys can give me. I just don't know where to start ruling things out.The last thing i want to do is keep messing with grounds and buying new batteries, alternators and fuses over and over again. Between pictures of other peoples engines, the TSRM and the wiring diagrams I am pretty certain all my grounds are in the right spots, but I'm going to have to go over them one by one. In the meantime, what could cause the negative to spark like that? Obviously it is probably something that is not grounded right between either the starter, alternator, and battery. Do you think I blew the EFI fuse, or something worse?

I can't stress enough how much any help is extremely appreciated...I'll tell you I could barely change oil before I started this build. But I have learned so much and I have spent many lonely nights out at the shop researching something on the laptop, then tackling it on the car over and over again, and last night going from being so proud of myself for completing this build and getting ready to hear it to realizing that i might not get to drive it until spring is about enough to make me give up.:nono:

BryanDyer

Jun 13, 2012
Georgia