New with an 88 turbo

msimsi10

Jun 28, 2009
Novi, MI
I've basically turned this into my build thread now so, I'll keep everyone updated.

Hey everybody. I am new to the supra world, but im not new to the 7M motors. My first car was a Cressida with the 7MGE and it has been gone for a few years now. About 3 months ago I started to look for a supra and after a month of being a Craigslist whore I came across an amazing find. I found a white '88 Supra with a targa top with 66xxx miles for $1900. I thought it was to good to be true. I call the guy and the next thing you know I was at his house. Besides a few switches not working and a small ding in the fender it was in perfect shape. Here are some pictures, let me know what you think:
sm_photo_missing.jpg

sm_photo_missing.jpg

sm_photo_missing.jpg

sm_photo_missing.jpg

After driving it for the first month I began the quest for more power, so I ordered a lot of parts. HK$ Dragger Exhaust, HK$ Down Pipe, Godspeed Intercooler and Radiator, Greddy Profec B Spec II,Aeromotive Fuel Pressure Regulator, Walbro 255 l/ph Fuel Pump, Turbo XS Type H-RFL BOV. Shortly after I installed the intercooler, exhaust, intake, and radiator and was waiting on more parts to come, the head gasket blew :1zhelp:. So now I am saving up to rebuild the engine from the ground up. Who knows how long this will take, but it will be worth it in the end. Current photos:
sm_photo_missing.jpg

sm_photo_missing.jpg
Let me know what you think and I am always open to new opinions and ideas.

1988 Toyota Supra
List of Mods

-Turbo
Stock (for now)

-Bottom End
Wiesco Pistons, Eagle connecting rods, 2mm MHG, ARP head studs to 95 ft lbs.

-Head
New valve job, other than that, stock head

-Intake
Stock intake manifold, Running Turbo XS Type H-RFL BOV, Godspeed intercooler kit (2.5 inch piping)

-Exhaust
HKS Dragger Exhaust (3.5”) and HKS Downpipe (3”)

-Fuel
Lexus AFM, Walbro 255 pump, Aeromotive FPR

-Suspension
Stock

-Brakes
Stock

-Electronics