New to engine work - stupid question?

80083r

I'm fairly technically savvy, but lacking a great deal of knowledge in this area. I'm studying hard and reading lots, but sometimes it's faster to ask the stupid question than searching forever.

If the crank is the same on the 7MGE and 7MGTE are the same, how is the compression different? Obviously after the turbo spools up, there is more compression due to adding more air to the same stroke...

Is the air intake modified by having to pull past the turbo?

I told you it was a stupid question - is it all just how much air (and fuel) is sucked/pushed into the cylinder during intake?

Turbo Habanero

Apr 28, 2009
Tucson,AZ
Don't quote me on this just yet but I believe the pistons are different.

And ask all the stupid Questions you want sir. Some will let it bother them but most of us don't mind to help.

Slayr504

Aug 16, 2012
Murica
Turbo Habanero;1879490 said:
Don't quote me on this just yet but I believe the pistons are different.

And ask all the stupid Questions you want sir. Some will let it bother them but most of us don't mind to help.

I'm almost positive the pistons are different between the 7M and 7MGTE. Pistons would probably be the easiest way to either reduce/increase compression. I have a Haynes Repair manual for the 7M & 7MGTE. I'll check when I get home from work and let you know for sure.

egesledder

Mar 26, 2012
Boulder, CO
Turbo pistons are dished to add more volume to the combustion chamber size at TDC. Bore/stroke are the same, so they displace them same, but the volume of air at TDC for the turbo version is larger than the N/A version. This makes the compression ratio lower and, in this case, the cranking compression lower (those two are not always tied together).

Slayr504

Aug 16, 2012
Murica