need a Mechanic on Northeast NJ

ms0072

Apr 12, 2007
nj
Looking for a Reputable mechanic in the northeast NJ area to diagnose my sons Supra.

A few years ago my son bought a heavily modified supra that he intended to add a few more mods to and use as his daily driver.
He did a few mods to the car but then had to leave the area for work and couldnt take the car with him.
The car sat for the last year and a half while he was in Tenn, it was started a few times but not driven on the road.

He will be moving back to NJ in a few months as I would really like to get the car fixed up for him before he gets back.
The car does idle fine and runs fairly smoothly but it stumbles under acceleration and does not have the power it should have given the modifications it has.

I am a decent motorcycle mechanic , and even did some mods on a supra I owned in the nineties but his car is heavily modified and I wouldnt know where to start to diagnose it.

So -- looking for either -- recommendations for a reputable mechanic who knows supras that I can take the car to who I can trust to give me an honest diagnosis of what is wrong and who can also tune the car once it is fixed.
OR -- someone who can guide me via emails and possibly phone calls to figure out what is wrong. ( I would be glad to pay a reasonable fee for the help).

The car is really nice and it would really be great to have it fixed before september when he gets home.

Car is a 1990 turbo with 56,000 miles.
originally auto but changed to manual.
it has

AFPR aeromotive
Denso 550cc
Lex AFM
Supra Sport Boss 550 turbo with SS lines
Q45 TB- sealed with BEECH TPS adapter
Ron R intake mani. Short runner with AC
Tial 50mm BOV
RT DownPipe
3 inch exhaust
Walbro fuel pump
Zeitronics wideband

ms0072

Apr 12, 2007
nj
So from reading the forums I figured there was a good possibility there is a boost or vacuum leak.

I made an adapter , removed the lexus afm from the coupler and put the adapter in its place.