Low end power question.

80083r

So I'm new to being a "car guy", pretty good on basic theory or the science behind things, but not so knowledgeable about specific automotive things. Terminology tends to catch me out - I don't know what things are called, or where they are located. I'm sure there are other gaps in my knowledge that I don't know about yet, but on to the question.

My 89 turbo is stock as far as I know, with the exception of the air filter, which is a K&M, I think. Runs well, pulls hard, I love the car - it's the most powerful vehicle I've ever owned, love it.

But...

There is a lack of low end power, and it seems like it takes about 1/2 a second to start with any kind of power. This may point to a problem, but I'm not sure, it's also my first turbo.

More details: I'm comparing starting from a light (not racing, just normal driving) between my supra and the little 4 bangers I'm used to. Normally, I push the gas, and the car goes. With the supra, it's like I push the gas and... wait, now it goes. Is this normal? just an older car? I'm not talking about waiting for the turbo to spool up, that pause is pretty good, and the power starts pretty smooth from about 3000rpm and up. I'm talking about from 1000rpm, easy start normal driving - the pause is microscopic, but I "feel" it. It seems like I have to slip the clutch quite a bit to keep from stalling, or wind up to 1500rpm and "chirp" the tires.

To forestall some questions - it's not because I'm bad at driving a standard. I'm not the greatest, but I've had 20 years of experience or so and never had any problems.

It's also possible I'm just paranoid and the issue is totally in my head.